Day 1: Atascadero (and Why Douglas Adams Would Be Proud)

“Your order number will be 42.”
After finishing a marathon cleaning of our house and packing a spectacular load of gear into the car, we made a quick stop on the way out of Davis at the good ol’ In-N-Out. That the cashier bestowed upon us such a significant number surely means exciting times lie on the road ahead. Douglas Adams would be proud of us starry-eyed travelers too – we didn’t forget to bring our towels.
A friend texted me as we left this afternoon. “Nervous?” he asked. I realized that for once I’m not nervous. I have zero anxiety or trepidation about turning in the keys to my house and hitting the open road for the summer without having it all planned out. Me – an often-times Grade A worrier. Instead, as we rolled out of Davis an incredible sense of relief washed over me. There’s no stress, no doubt – nothing but infinite possibility ahead of me now.
Leaving Davis at 5:18pm, we drove through the Bay Area and down 101-S through Steinbeck territory. (The pastoral beauty of the Salinas Valley’s fertile lands surrounded on both sides by majestic mountains cloaked in mist is uncanny. One day I’ll return to hike the Pinnacles.) Arriving in Atascsdero around 9:00pm, we were welcomed by Lindsay, Bob, and three crazy dogs to a relaxing night of homemade pizza and Game of Thrones.

And now it’s time to sleep for about a day and a half.

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Atascadero (and Why Douglas Adams Would Be Proud)

  1. IN-N-OUT at the start of a road trip? Oy vey.

    Pinole has a 5 Guys now. Stop in on your way home. 😉

    You two look so cute and ready to go! Have fun.

  2. You were in Salinas and didn't stop by… 😦 Have a safe trip and I can't wait to keep reading about your adventures!

Leave a comment